Verstappen wins Saudi Arabian GP after epic fight with Leclerc

Marca F1

The Crimson Bull and Ferrari drivers traded blows late within the race

Verstappen wins Saudi Arabian GP after epic fight with Leclerc

Hassan AmmarAPActualizado

Max Verstappen stays one step forward of another driver in System 1 in 2022, successful the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix on Sunday night.

The Dutchman claimed his first win of the yr by beating Charles Leclerc after a heated seven-lap chase to the demise by which Ferrari‘s No.16 was finally knocked out of the race. The Monegasque tried to tame the beast once more, as he did in Bahrain, however his slower tempo on the straights lastly gave strategy to the unstoppable world champion.

Carlos Sainz completed third, after slipping to fourth on flip two earlier than then getting again right into a podium place at Sergio Perez‘s expense, with the latter left as the massive loser of the day, earlier than the liveliness of Ferrari within the pits. Carlos was in a position to maintain off the Mexican’s late cost to say his second consecutive podium of 2022, protecting himself second within the World Championship standings.

Sainz discovered good tempo early on, however that light because the race went on. By the point the struggle on the entrance broke out, he was already six seconds behind the eventual winner Verstappen.

Alonso retirement

Fernando Alonso was compelled to retire on lap 38 when his Alpine automobile ran out of energy. He was aiming for a sixth-place end, which a fortunate Esteban Ocon discovered himself undeservedly taking.

Hamilton disappoints

The shock of the day was that Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton completed in tenth, with rather more having been anticipated of the Briton, despite the fact that he began method down the grid in fifteenth. In the end he was caught out by the Digital Security Automotive and it subsequently closing the pit lane, which means he could not full his cease at an optimum time.

The Saudi Arabian Grand Prix completed as follows:

    Max Verstappen, Crimson BullCharles Leclerc, FerrariCarlos Sainz, FerrariSergio Perez, Crimson BullGeorge Russell, MercedesEsteban Ocon, AlpineLando Norris, McLarenPierre Gasly, AlphaTauriKevin Magnussen, HaasLewis Hamilton, Mercedes


Rate author
F1 News
Add a comment